2 Ex-CMs Omar & Mehbooba concede defeat

2 Ex-CMs Omar & Mehbooba concede defeat


Srinagar, June 4: Midway into counting of votes on Tuesday, former chief ministers Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti accepted their defeat in their respective Lok Sabha constituencies.

By 1. 30 pm, National Conference’s Omar Abdullah was trailing behind Abdul Rashid Sheikh, also known as Engineer Rashid by a margin of over 1.30 lakh votes. Engineer Rashid, a former MLA is currently lodged in Tihar jail in a UAPA case.

According to the Election Commission of India, Engineer Rashid, had bagged 3,01,369, while Omar was second with 1,63,757. Sajad Lone of the People Conference was in the third position with 1,01,990 votes.

Omar took to social media to accept his defeat.

“I think it’s time to accept the inevitable. Congratulations to Engineer Rashid for his victory in North Kashmir. I don’t believe his victory will hasten his release from prison nor will the people of North Kashmir get the representation they have a right to but the voters have spoken and in a democracy that’s all that matters,” Omar posted on X.

Omar also congratulated Mian Altaf and Aga Ruhullah who are likely to emerge winners from the two Lok Sabha seats of Anantnag- Rajouri and Srinagar.

The other chief minister and Peoples Democratic Party’s Mehbooba Mufti was trailing behind Mian Altaf Ahmad of the National Conference by 2,36,730 votes in Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency.

Mian Altaf has polled 4,59,199 votes, while Mehbooba Mufti polled 2,22,469 votes even as counting is underway.

“Respecting the verdict of the people I thank my PDP workers & leaders for their hard work & support despite all the odds. My deepest gratitude to the people who voted for me. Winning & losing is part of the game & wont deter us from our path. Congratulations to Mian sahab for his victory,” she posted on X


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.