61 pc polling in Ladakh till 3 pm

61 pc polling in Ladakh till 3 pm


Srinagar, May 20: An estimated 61.26 percent voting was recorded in the Ladakh Lok Sabha Constituency till 3 pm during the fifth phase of election on Monday, officials said.

Kargil recorded 66.5 percent polling and Leh 56.10 percent voter turnout till 1500 hours.

The three candidates contesting in Ladakh are Tashi Gyalson from BJP, Tsering Namgyal from Congress, and an independent candidate Haji Hanifa Jan, backed by rebels from the National Conference (NC) and Congress.

Although the INDIA bloc had offered the Ladakh Parliamentary seat to Congress, internal rebellion has undermined the agreement.

The BJP won this seat in 2014 and 2019.

In 2014, BJP candidate Thupstan Chhewang won the seat in a four-cornered contest. In 2019, BJP candidate Jamyang Tsering Namgayal won the seat with four candidates, including Rigzin Spalbar from Congress and independents Sajjad Kargili and Haji Asgar Ali Karbalai from Kargil in the fray.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.