BJP finalizes 3 contenders for Ladakh LS seat, await national leadership decision

BJP finalizes 3 contenders for Ladakh LS seat, await national leadership decision

Srinagar, Mar 04: As the political landscape heats up ahead of the Lok Sabha elections in Ladakh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has concluded an important meeting to finalize its panel of candidates for the lone parliamentary seat in the Union Territory.

Reports inform the news agency, that after meticulous deliberations, BJP has shortlisted three potential candidates: sitting MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, LAHDC Leh Chief Executive Councilor Advocate Tashi Gyalson, and Stanzin Lakpa, councilor of Cha constituency in Kargil district.

Party sources divulge that the decision comes amid considerations regarding the declining popularity of incumbent MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, prompting BJP to explore alternative candidates. Advocate Tashi Gyalson emerges as a strong contender, backed by his position as the LAHDC Leh Chief Executive Councilor.

Meanwhile, Stanzin Lakpa, who secured victory in the LAHDC Kargil elections last year, adds another dimension to the candidate pool with his recent electoral success.

The decision-making process was conducted with utmost transparency, with prominent party members, including State Vice Presidents, District Presidents, and LAHDC Executive Councilors, actively participating. Utilizing both internal surveys and voting mechanisms, the party ensured thorough representation and fairness in candidate selection.

The final panel of candidates has been submitted to the central leadership of the BJP for approval, marking a crucial step in shaping the party’s electoral strategy for Ladakh. All eyes now turn to the national leadership as the anticipation builds regarding the chosen candidate who will represent BJP in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections—(KNO)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.