Pakistan’s Parliament to elect new PM on March 3

Pakistan’s Parliament to elect new PM on March 3

Islamabad, Mar 3: Members of the Pakistani National Assembly, the parliament’s lower house, are expected to elect a new prime minister of the country on Sunday.

The candidates for the post are the president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) party, Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif, and the secretary general of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party, Omar Ayub Khan. The latter won the election to the National Assembly as an independent candidate.

Earlier on Thursday, newly elected lawmakers were sworn in during the maiden session of the 16th National Assembly.

The ruling coalition in the country’s parliament is led by the PML-N. It also consists of the Pakistan People’s Party, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement, the Istehkam-i-Pakistan Party and the Balochistan Awami Party.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.